I Have a Question For You

Yes, you!

This is quick, I promise. 

I’m writing a new e-book! (And I’ll be un-publishing my old one in about 48 hours, for various reasons.) 

This e-book is going to be focused on teaching freelance writers how to sell, and making sales less scary. 

I feel like freelancers are okay behind a computer until you say “cold call” or “market yourself”, and then they panic and run. 

I come from a corporate sales background, and I know it’s not as scary as it seems, and I’m going to help you get over your fear, teach you actionable skills that can help grow your business, and other awesome info and resources. 

But I don’t want to write it if you don’t want to read it. 

So, by show of hands…er, likes….let me know if this is something you would read/buy/be interested in. 

If you’re the quiet type, just hit “like post” and I’ll know you are interested.

If you have some issues you really want me to tackle in the book, comment away!

And if you think this is malarkey, just give me a snort of derision and “x” out of the post. 

Hunky dory? Great! Thanks friends!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Here’s the thing I’ve found – when I was trying to make money selling my e-books, it didn’t make sense to SPEND money, even if it was on getting good advice. So many of the people I looked at told me they had made large sums selling e-books, but all those were non-fiction, usually about how to sell e-books. The ones who had made money selling fiction had usually done so by a hard sell technique, granted, but they were few and far between.
    I’m painfully aware that I make good money for a playwright, but that I do so because I met my publisher at a crucial time. I rode the wave of his success, and managed to get a significant number of scripts onto his website early on.
    I know a reasonable book with a dedicated sales program will outsell a genius book with a shy author, but I don’t want to be a salesman. I write. I know I’ll likely never make six figures from the fiction I put on Amazon, but I’d rather be poor and happy than be unappy working really hard to sell my books.
    All of which is way more than you asked. But thanks for letting me rant. Best of luck with the book (do it anyway! People DO need good guides on selling!)

  2. courtneyherz says:

    I understand where you’re coming from, and you have a point. There’s a reason I’m not in sales anymore – I loathe hard selling. But unfortunately, anything you do as a business requires selling, and that’s particularly true if you’re self-employed. Many people are more than happy covering expenses with a little left over, and that’s completely fine. And I’m not out to make a killing with e-books – at least not this one. 😉 I don’t waste my sales efforts on my e-books. I tweet it once or twice and that about does it.

    But when it comes to making a living that builds up consistent revenue, sales is required. The good news is, it doesn’t have to be a hard sell. Even for fiction. (Maybe even especially for fiction, where a lot of emotional selling works well.)

    For those who write because they love writing and let the financial chips fall where they may, I salute you if it works. But the problem is that most people can’t pay rent following that method, but they’re too afraid to do corporate/business writing because they think sales means pounding on doors and calling 1,000 people a week. I was so burned out on phones that I do all of my corporate selling, at least initially, via email. So my point with the book is basically just to give a “how-to” on a wide range of selling options that will work for different personalities. And show that it’s not scary. 🙂

    I think you’d like this e-book. It’s an anti-sales sales book in a way. I don’t believe in mass e-mails and smile-and-dial selling. Not for writers, anyway, or for most creative business owners. 🙂 I want to take the slimy feeling out of sales and show that it can be done professionally and in all sorts of ways.

    I appreciate your input! I agree with much of what you said. And I can’t write plays to save my life, so you have all my respect! lol. I did some theater on the acting side, but could never get the knack for the writing side. Oh, irony. 🙂

    Hope you have a super rest of your day! 😀

Leave a Reply

