The January Kindle Experiment

As many of you know, I’m currently writing a series for freelance writers called A Freelance Writer’s Guide To. The series is planned out, the first book, A Freelance Writer’s Guide To Researching, is already published, and the second book, which is all about marketing, is already underway. The eBook series will have about 10 books when it’s completed.

This year, a large focus of my writing work revolves around Kindle and self-publishing. I really want to see what I can do when I put the majority of my energy into self-published works. There are many people out there who swear up and down that publishing frequently dramatically improves sales, helps people find you, and keeps you relevant in the Amazon search engines.

I’ve been dying to put this theory to the test for quite some time. My idea? Throw everything I have at Kindle. Publish as much as possible – without sacrificing quality – as fast as possible, and see what happens.

Since I know this series is already doing fairly decently, and I suspect there will be a nice sell-through of people who want all the books (or more than one of them), I’ve decided to kill two proverbial birds with one stone. In other words, I’ve decided to write and publish the next 9 books in the series as fast as possible, publishing them as soon as they’re done.

I’m really interested to see how this will pan out as far as sales – and reviews – are concerned.

Since I figure this is an experiment that will also serve you all, I’ll publish my results here as I go.

I’m currently about 15,000 words into the marketing book. The first two books in the series have significantly more theory in them than some of the other books will, so they’re a bit longer. My first book in the series was 92 pages – something around 28,000 words. This one will probably be a bit longer, and the others will likely be a bit shorter.

Hopefully this experiment will serve you well. I’ll be doing a similar experiment geared toward Constant Content at the same time (seeing if consistent articles published daily will increase sales, and also seeing if writing across subjects as opposed to writing in one subject will increase income). However, I don’t want to completely confuse you, so I’ll be writing two different blog series.

The first will be all about the Kindle project, and the next will be about the Constant Content project.

Hopefully you’ll find this information helpful – or, at the very least, interesting. I can’t wait to see what will happen!

Have any predictions? Let us know in the comments below.

Until next time,

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

